108761 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: EVA3000 Expand Disk Capacity

SOLVED
Go to solution
tahir123
Advisor

EVA3000 Expand Disk Capacity

hi, i have EVA3000 with 2 enclosure 24 x 146 HDD, i have another 2 x 146Gb HDD i am new to EVA please can someone help me step by step who to introduce new disks to existing disk group and expand the virtual disk capacity.
20 REPLIES 20
IBaltay
Honored Contributor

Hi,
according to the performance best practices the rule is the more disks in a disk group, the better performance (more spindles)
http://h71028.www7.hp.com/ERC/downloads/4AA1-5215ENW.pdf
The vdisk online capacity expansion is available (e.g. the diskpart/windows, vgmodify/HP-UX 11iv2 with PHCO_35524, 11iv3 (see this ITRC article pls http://forums11.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=1240431)
the pain is one part of the reality
Mustafa Gulercan
Respected Contributor

hi tahir,
first of all 2 more disks is not sufficiant for best performance.
Because of RSS structure, HP recommends 8 and multiple of 8 disks for extending disk group.
And for extending virtual disk;
1- At EVA: Add the disks to the disk groups.
Create another virtual disk existing.
2- At node: backup your data.
vgextend your volume group.If you have OnlineJFS license thereis no need to deactive vgs'.
If you have a cluster system you need to deactive slave node vg's.

regards,
mustafa
tahir123
Advisor

hi guys you are right for performance purpose i should add minimum 8 disk actually we have orders for one enclosure with 14 x 146 Gb disk that will take some how 2 weeks to receive as we are running out of space we just want to extend our space to existing VDisk to save the data for two week until we receive the products that we are expecting withen 2 weeks.
Rob Leadbeater
Honored Contributor

Hi,

1. Install one new disk in the lower enclosure.
2. Wait until the new disk is visible in Command View EVA, in Ungrouped Disks.
3. Install the second new disk in the upper enclosure.