1752777 Members
6165 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

MSA 1000 reset and disabling write/read cache

Todd Mermell_1
Occasional Advisor

MSA 1000 reset and disabling write/read cache

I'm new to HP storage, particularly MSA 1000s, and just inherited a Linux NFS cluster doing up to 20,000 IOPS on a single MSA 1000. Some of the SAs have had instances where the write performance (latencies over 1000ms) have occurred and found that resetting the MSA controller fixes the problem - at least for a week or two.

This was noticed after failing over to a second node in the cluster and seeing the same performance issues.

Question - are writes acknowledged while in cache by the MSA before destaging to disk? If so, does a soft and/or hard reset potentially result in lost writes to disk?

The soft reset is done using the msaflash utility.

Anyone else experience performance issues on the MSA 1000 resulting in a reset to the MSA controller to resolve the issue?

Is it possible to disable read and/or write cache from a Linux host or using the cpqacuxe utility?

Thank you in advance.

-Todd
18 REPLIES 18
Brian Bleijenberg
Frequent Advisor

Re: MSA 1000 reset and disabling write/read cache

Hi Todd

I far as i know ... If you have a fullblown
filled with disks,MSA the max IOPS = 8000!!
you can calculate this.
The Drive Subsys is the limitation here, not the controller.

Hope this helps

Brian

Todd Mermell_1
Occasional Advisor

Actually, that makes a lot of sense for a JBOD. If the queue depth on the drives is 255:

42*255 ~ 10,000

Is that what you were referring to?

But that would be I/O directly to disk. Assuming some kind of cache hit ratio, I would expect the theoretical limit to be much higher - maybe 20-30k.

Thanks for the response.

-Todd
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

On the MSA, you can change the read/write cache ratio from 100%/0% to 0%/100% in 10% increments. I think you can also disable the cache.