Disk Enclosures
1748080 Members
5262 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

MSA P2000fc G3 shows as a L port status.

SOLVED
Go to solution
Iain Binnie
Advisor

MSA P2000fc G3 shows as a L port status.

Hi, firstly im no expert on SAN's and the new P2000 G3 and am haveing some issues being that in the switches the P2000 shows as a L port status.

I would like to have a F port status so I can zone them via aliases (as i have done with my msa 1500's in the past), is this what I should be doing or should I use port zoning for the L ports?

I realize L ports are loop and F ports are fabric but I donтАЩt understand the fundamental difference between the two?

I have updated the firmware on the P2000 but have not yet updated the firmware on the san switches as yet but this is my next step.

Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

Best Regards
Iain
19 REPLIES 19
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Re: MSA P2000fc G3 shows as a L port status.

Hi, definitely give updating firmware on the SAN-switches a shot.

But maybe you could also check the setting you have on the host port in the P2000 SMU?

One setting is supposed to be for a direct-connected server and the other for a SAN-switch. I believe the one for direct-connect will turn the port in the P2000 into an L_port so that it can have a little loop with the server.

After you set it I would restart P2000 and SAN-switch.
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

WWN-based zoning (using aliases or not) should work for L_Ports, too.
gsb_2
Regular Advisor

I know when I first got my MSA P2000fc G3 the ports showed up as L ports. I switched them to F ports. I think I did it on the SAN switches.
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

yeah, you can see how they are configured with 'portcfgshow'

maybe there is a portcfgfport command you can use
Iain Binnie
Advisor

Hey, OK so your right I can alias a L port thanks for that ;) when I first check it was not allowing me to add it in SwitchExplorer GUI.