1753769 Members
5529 Online
54796 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSA60 Configuration Options

R. L. Kern
Occasional Advisor

MSA60 Configuration Options

I am new to the external storage array so forgive the basic nature of this request. I am adding a new msa60 array to our existing server (IBM x3455) which already has an Areca RAID card(1221). My questions are regarding the initial setup-
Will I require a P800 smart array card in addition to the areca if we wish to configure the msa60 as JBOD. And will I need the HP array configuration utility running to perform this(i.e. MSA60 JBOD configuration). The reason I ask is that the array config utiility requires server os that we don't have installed(we are using FreeBSD)

thanks in advance for any advice.
17 REPLIES 17
Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Hi,

you need to use a RAID card that the MSA60 supports.

See this for which are supported:
http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/12627_div/12627_div.HTML

If you do not want to install ACU you can try to boot the server on the smartstart CD.

Or maybe this ACU offline CD:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=15351&prodSeriesId=3683232&prodNameId=3683233&swEnvOID=1005&swLang=8&mode=2&taskId=135&swItem=MTX-f0790470403f4da3bd94126308

But I am positive that you will need a smart array controller for anything to work.

Downside of not installing the ACU is that if something happens to the array, you will have to reboot the server and boot it on the CD.

In FreeBSD - isn't it possible to 'emulate' linux and get it to run linux binaries? Maybe you can get ACU to run that way?
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

You likely have a real problem, because you don't have a proliant server. Maybe you really need a hp smartarray controller, but you most likely cannot boot from smartstart. In this case, the ORCA (offline config utility) may be your only option.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.