108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Optimal LUN sizing

SOLVED
Go to solution
Simon Galton
Frequent Advisor

Optimal LUN sizing

Folks -- I'm polling for wisdom on this one... :)

When building a 150GB mountpoint, is it "better" to use one 150GB LUN on a va7410 or to create three 50GB LUNs and put them in a common volume group?

An HP tech suggested to me that he had never seen a 150GB or 200GB LUN in production from a va array and suggested that we use 50GB (or smaller) LUNs. This seems counter-intuitive to me, as the three LUNs would require three times the overhead on the array.

Thoughts?
5 REPLIES 5
Leif Halvarsson_2
Honored Contributor

Hi,
I have no experience with the VA7410 myself but I don't understand why this advanced array could not handle a 150GB LUN. I use 400GB LUNs on our rather simple disk array without problems.

If all LUNs is in the same RAID-set (as I understand it is in the VA7410) there is no advantage with several small LUNs compared to one large.
Eugeny Brychkov
Honored Contributor
Solution

Simon,
VA7410 can have LUN in size of all available its space if you want. But for perfomance reasons you can do the following: create two LUNs in different Redundancy Groups (RG1 and RG2) and then created VG so that primary path for RG1 LUN would go through VA C1 and for RG2 LUN through C2.
BUT: I was told that VA7x10 family has improved intercontroller bus and this I mentioned above should not have big perfomance reason to implement.
The best I see is simply load balance LUNs between RGs (mean distribute all disks between both RGs and allocate approx. same space in both RGs for LUNs). This will ensure that both disk-RG-owning controllers will be engaged equally
Eugeny
Roger_22
Trusted Contributor

LUN size and count are unimportant to the VA for performance; with the exception you need at least one LUN per RG to access the data.