5365 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Resizing LUNS/VGs on VA7100

SOLVED
Go to solution
Brian Prelle

Resizing LUNS/VGs on VA7100

I'm new to unix, so dont assume I know anything.
I have a VA7100 Array on a N4000 with HP-UX11.0.

The hard drives were replaced with larger ones(one at a time and let the array rebuild). Now I would like to be able to use the new space.

How do I find out which LUNS have which VG's.... and can these be resized dynamically?

Thanks for any help.

Brian
11 REPLIES 11
Patrick Wallek
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: Resizing LUNS/VGs on VA7100

It is more like which VGs are accessing which LUNs.

Do a:

# vgdisplay -v vgname

to get information on each VG. At the end of the output you will see a list of physical volumes that comprise each VG. You can then use those device files to figure out which LUNs on your VA the VG is using.

I do not know if you can extend an existing LUN on a VA, but you should be able to create new LUNs with the additional space you have, and you can then vgextend your VGs to use an additional LUN. You would then need to extend the LVs that you want to have additional space. If you have the Online/JFS product installed you can do all of this without unmounting the filesystems, by doing an lvextend and then an fsadm on the filesystem to extend it. If you don't have Online/JFS you will need to unmount the filesystem, do an lvextend, and an extendfs for the LV.
Vincent Fleming
Honored Contributor

Unfortunately, you cannot resize/grow a LUN on the VA7100.

So, just create some additional LUNs, and do the vgextend things Patrick describes above. That will allow you to dynamically grow the Filesystem by adding these new LUNs to the Volume Groups, LVs, etc.

If you need more specific instructions, (since you're new to this...), then post back with the output from the vgdisplay's Patrick described, and the output from "ioscan -fnC disk", and we'll help you sort it out.

Good luck!

-Vince