1747988 Members
4583 Online
108756 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Upgrade Hard Drives in Raid5 configuration

Matt Lawrence
Occasional Advisor

Upgrade Hard Drives in Raid5 configuration

I am fairly new to the Raid environment. I have an ML370 with 4 18.2Gig SCSI drives running Raid5. I am running out of drive space and need to replace the existing drives with new, larger drives. I am not sure how to do this. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Matt
8 REPLIES 8
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Re: Upgrade Hard Drives in Raid5 configuration

Matt,

I guess you have a Smart Array controller in your ProLiant ML370 server. As far as I know you can not just replace the disks one by one and then have free space in the array(of disk drives). The reason is because you can mix different sized disk drives in an array, but the controller will treat all disk drives as having the size of the smallest disk drive.

I am afraid you have to backup your data to a different disk or tape first. Then you delete the logical drive and remove all disk drives through ACU (Array Configuration Utiliy).

Now you pull the disk drives one by one a little out of the bay until it looses power and give it some time to spin down. After a minute at most you can pull them out completely and plug in the bigger disk drives. You create a new array(of the disk drives) and slice a new logical disk out of the array. Now you can restore your data to the larger logical disk and enjoy the additional space.
Matt Lawrence
Occasional Advisor

I do have a Smart Arry controller. I guess What I will do is Ghost and image to another server, replace the disk as discribed, then Ghost the image to the new logical disk. Does that sound about right?
Mohamed  K Ahmed
Trusted Contributor

backup and restore data would be the best solution in your case. You have to recreate the raid on the new big drives

Mohamed
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor