108787 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: VA7100 Setup help

SOLVED
Go to solution
Rao Uppuluri
Advisor

VA7100 Setup help

We have recently purchased a rp4440-8 and a VA7100 disk system. RP came pre-loaded with HPUX 11.11 and the HP engineer attached the VA7100 with Fibre Cards. This system to is going to host a oracle database.
I need some help,

1. I want to know how can I setup adnd carve out luns on VA7100? Is there a manual I can read to do this or can a kind soul on this forum help me with the steps, please? When I tried to access VA7100 through SAM, I got an error about array software utilities not being present. (We currently use AutoRAID 12H and I setup volume groups on it myself.)

2. I want to re-partition my VG00 group. I am thinking of creating a Ignite tape, using make_tape_recovery, boot the system off of it and partition my root volume group again. (Please note, I have never done the above before on any machine) Please let me know if this proecedure works? Also, what would be the make_tape_recovery command I use for this task? (is -A enough?)

Thank you for your help.
6 REPLIES 6
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor
Solution

Rao,

1. I believe you need to load the "hp StorageWorks command view sdm" software in order to work with your VA7100. See http://www.hp.com/support/cvsdm for more info. You may have to consult your HP rep to obtain a copy of this product.

2. Ignite is exactly the tool you need to re-partion vg00. Run your "make_tape_recovery -a /dev/rmt/0mn -I -v -x inc_entire=vg00", then boot off the tape and interact with the install process to re-allocate the logical volumes in vg00. Any other VGs will need to be re-imported when you're done.

Pete

Pete
vofsky
Frequent Advisor

Hi Rao,
I would with Pete's idea.Moreover you can create the LUN thru the serial port.here is the steps:
1.Connect a laptop or PC,Proliant server...whatever to VA with a serial cable came with VA
2.Start the hyperterminal
3.issue the command "fmt" to format VA