108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: XP24000 Thin Provisioning & External Storage

SOLVED
Go to solution
Dean.V.Kelly
Occasional Contributor

XP24000 Thin Provisioning & External Storage

I'm new to the practice of ThP on the XP series and have been delivered a solution to implement, but can't quite see how it's possible.

The basic upshot is that I have an XP24K with an EVA4400 attached as external storage. I've been tasked with building ThP pools/V-VOLs on the internal and external devices and setting up BC to replicate from the XP to the EVA.

I've managed to build my V-VOLs on the internal XP disks with no problem, but try as I might I don't seem to be able to build V-VOLs on the EVA.

When I build a pool and select the CU which our EVA Storage is assigned to I don't see any LDEVs I can assign to the pool.

Am I missing something or is it not possible to create ThP pools on External devices?

Thanks in advance,
Dean
5 REPLIES 5
Dean.V.Kelly
Occasional Contributor

As a second question: Is there a "best practice" whitepaper that covers ThP on the XP24K that anyone knows about?
Nigel Poulton
Respected Contributor
Solution

Hi Dean,

The more information the better......

First question that springs to mind is how big are the LDEVs that are mapped from the EVA?

As for a best practice guide...... Ive attached a paper that I wrote a little while ago on the subject.

HTH

Nigel
Talk about the XP and EVA @ http://blog.nigelpoulton.com
Dean.V.Kelly
Occasional Contributor

Nigel,

thanks for your best practice document - it solved my problem (the LDEVs I was using to create the pool were too small, which your document clearly indicated).

Could I trouble you to clarify a couple of details, please? From reading your notes it's inferred that a ThP pool should always consist of the entire contents of a PG (although the array will allow to just use a few LDEVs from a PG if you want to) - did I read that correctly?