108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: adding disk to smart array 5i

SOLVED
Go to solution
Javed Bux
Occasional Advisor

adding disk to smart array 5i

Hello, I have a Compaq ML370 G2 server running netware 6 sp5 server.

It has a Smart Array 5i controller with 4x18.2Gb disks and 1 spare.

All 4 disks are in one array and I wish to add an extra 18.2gb disk to increase disk space.

Does anyone have any hints/tips guidance on how best to expand the array so i can increase the netware volume size?

When cpqonlin is run it is version 2.74
I cannot give any other info I don't think as the server is in use during the day.

All help appreciated!

12 REPLIES 12
Greg Carlson
Honored Contributor

What version of NetWare are you running?
Lets Roll!
Javed Bux
Occasional Advisor

Novell NetWare 6 with SP5
Javed Bux
Occasional Advisor

All a bit quiet...

Has no one done this with Novell then ?
Leif Halvarsson_2
Honored Contributor

Hi,

I have no experience with NetWare and this Raid controller but, adding diaks to an existing Raid set on a 5i controller an be very time consuming. We added a 72GB disk and the process has not completed after more then 12h.
Nigel Adams_1

For what it's worth, I've got a Compaq DL380 G3 with a 5i controller running NW 6 SP4 (v2.70 of cpqonlin). It had 3 x 72.8Gb disks and I've added 1 more and expanded the array. 20 hours later and it's still going...

Did you get any further with yours?
Leslie Martin
Frequent Advisor
Solution

Javed