Yaboto
Super Advisor

Novice in VMware ESXi !

Hi,

A customer asked me to provide the following solution:

The customer said:

"We want 14 servers with Embedded VMware ESXi"

futher the customer explained:

"We hope to offer redundancy using a virtualization.The plan is to create the virtual machine images of all servers and store them on central storage on a daily/weekly basis. In case of emergency the image will be loaded on the servers runing the virtual Operating System. The system should be up and running again in lessthan five minutes."

I am a master engineer in implementing HP Data Center including SAN and Storage but I am very new to vertualization especially to VMWARE.
I don't know anything about VMWARE ESXi.

Please help me unerstand the solution.

Best Regards,

8 REPLIES 8
wobbe
Respected Contributor
Solution

Re: Novice in VMware ESXi !

I sound to me that they want to make weekly backups (snapshots) to a network storage. In a case of emergency these snapshots can be started from the storage on another machine.
This can work, but since your going back in time so you could run into system account password authentication failures on windows based systems.
Kapil Jha
Honored Contributor

there are various things in VMware to do what ur customer is asking.

You can make a cluster in VMware so that if one physical machine goes down all the VMs would start on second machine in a very short span of time.

to backup things you have
1)snapshot
2)clone
3)template

you may have to understand the above 3 concept and they are pretty simple and quite efficient.

BR,
Kapil+
I am in this small bowl, I wane see the real world......
Michal Kapalka (mikap)
Honored Contributor

hi,

i think your customer should check this links to know what is included in each version :

http://blogs.vmware.com/esxi/2009/06/esxi-vs-esx-a-comparison-of-features.html

http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=1015000