Other HPE Product Questions
1751981 Members
4878 Online
108784 Solutions
New Discussion

How to force HP-UFT to ignore untrusted security certificates?

SOLVED
Go to solution
masonjames
Occasional Contributor

How to force HP-UFT to ignore untrusted security certificates?

Hello All, I'm new to HP-UFT and need to automate a number of test environments using HTTPS. These environments do not have valid security certificates (they're self-signed) & I'd like to configure UFT to ignore them for Firefox/Chrome. With Selenium/Java, this is as simple as setting the driver capabilities:

DesiredCapabilities caps = DesiredCapabilities.chrome();
caps.setAcceptInsecureCerts(true);
WebDriver driver = new ChromeDriver(caps);
driver.get("untrusted_site_url");

The browser will then not display the Splunk security warnings & go straight to the target site.

Is there any way to do something similar in UFT?

Let me tell you what I can't do: Add certificates to the test environments or upgrade my version of UFT (out of my control unfortunately).

And this is what I've tried:

Importing the untrusted certificate into the browser (Firefox doesn't allow it & Chrome ignores it).
Adding extensions/add-ons that supposedly force the browser to ignore certificates (none of them work).
Automating the warning screens (Firefox: UFT can click the "Add Exception..." button without error, but the "Add Security Exception" dialog is not displayed. Chrome: I don't know what the heck is going on there - can't inspect any of the warning screen elements with the developer tools).
Changing certain about:config settings in Firefox (eg: security.ssl.enable_ocsp_stapling, browser.ssl_override_behavior). None of them have stopped the warning message being displayed.
Bear in mind that I'm inside a secured, corporate network & thus, certain internet settings are unavailable to me. And yes, I understand the risks of switching off these warnings, but need to automate these internal sites.