6340 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

CDE on hpux 11.11... the curious window

SOLVED
Go to solution
Joetta Mark

CDE on hpux 11.11... the curious window

I have an old 715/100 workstation as my desktop running hpux 11.11. I run CDE with 6 environments where I have windows telnetted into the various servers/databases I support. The servers are all hpux but some are 11.0, 11.11, 11.23, etc. Today for the first time I can ever recall, I started a process in a single window in environment 1, then went to environment 2 and that window followed me there... and went to environment 3 and the window was there... and so on through all the environments. It was like I had a static window and it was the focus window in each environment I went into. I have been working on various UNIX systems since 1986 and I have never seen this happen before. Any thoughts? The window is still doing this. I have had that telnet window open since November, so it was not a new login. Also, the process I initiated completed in about 8 minutes, but now that window just follows me everywhere. If it were Halloween, I would feel better about ghosts in the system. Thanks for any thoughts or ideas which might help explain the phenomenon.
7 REPLIES 7
Patrick Wallek
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: CDE on hpux 11.11... the curious window

It's been a while since I've done much with CDE, but I seem to vaguely recall that there was a way to make a window appear within ALL CDE workspaces.

Are there any options if you right click on the title bar of the Window?
Joetta Mark

Thank you. You would have thought that in my 20+ years of doing this that I would have taken the time to right click on the title bar... but I have never selected the options to "occupy workspace..." or "occupy all workspaces". I guess I'm never too old to learn. Mystery solved. Thank you so much. I would feel really stupid, but I called a 20+ year SysAdmin before submitting this and he didn't have any ideas either.