New Discussion юеВ

Can't remote login from HP to Linux.

SOLVED
Go to solution
Kenny Chau
Trusted Contributor

Can't remote login from HP to Linux.

Hi all,

I am new to Linux. Maybe this question is quite simple to you all.

I had installed RH7.2 server version. I had tried to do a remote login (root account) or remote shell from HP-UX to Linux but failed. I had comment the line of "#auth required /lib/security/pam_securetty.so" from files login, rlogin and rexec but when I do a remsh linux from the HP-UX, it prompts me for password. I had modified that I can login root from telnet in Linux. May I know what files I had missed out that gives me this result?
Before I comment those lines, it prompts me twice for password. But after I comment those lines, it prompt me once for password.

The other way round, I can rsh from Linux to HP-UX by root account.

Thanks in advance.
Kenny.
Kenny
12 REPLIES 12
I_M
Honored Contributor

Re: Can't remote login from HP to Linux.

Hi,

To do pam related troubleshoot,
I advice you to add "debug" option after pam.securetty.so.
Then you will be able to see error message in your /var/log/messages.

Good luck
Kenny Chau
Trusted Contributor

Thanks for your reply, but how can I enable the debug mode in this situation?

Thanks again.
Kenny.
Kenny
MiQUET Pascal
Occasional Advisor

You should notice that the root login normaly is not allowed. I'd suggest to use ssh.

Another solution is to login (rlogin or telnet) as a regular user and then "su - root" to get the root privileges.

HTH
Kenny Chau
Trusted Contributor

Well, I know I can su to root from other users, but I need to remote copy some root priviledge files and directories from HP-UX to Linux. I know I can do the other way round, but there are several people know the Linux root password but not the HP-UX root password. So I need to restrict rsh from Linux to HP-UX but not HP-UX to Linux.
Any idea to solve this problem?

Thanks.
Kenny.
Kenny
Hal Rottenberg
Frequent Advisor