New Discussion юеВ

Re: Centralized Mgmt in Linux ??

SOLVED
Go to solution
Ahmed Malik
Occasional Advisor

Centralized Mgmt in Linux ??

i am a newbie.
i have a M$-based small network of about 30 computers. running Active Directory(ADS). I now planned to switch towards linux. I just have no idea of Linux. B4 taking any decission I want to know that is there any equivalent technology in Linux as we have ADS in windows ???

Till next time
Ahmed Malik
9 REPLIES 9
John Collier
Esteemed Contributor

Ahmed,

You ask a bit of a tricky question.

Before I go about trying to give a long, complicated answer let me ask you this:

What part of M$ AD are you most interested in being able to duplicate? What benefits do you currently get from M$ that you feel like you can't live without?

The answers to these questions will help me to formulate an answer for you that might apply better than my ramblings at this time.

I too have been looking at replacing my M$ machines with Linux, so I feel I may have something to offer you if I know what your main concerns are.

John
"I expect to pass through this world but once. Any good, therefore, that I can do, or any kindness that I can show to any human being, let me do it now. Let me not defer or neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again." Stephen Krebbet, 1793-1855
Ahmed Malik
Occasional Advisor

Hi John,

I mostly interested in the following

1) if a user login on Domain, then he/she will automatically authenticated by all member servers(like Database, and others).

2) user can search resources in domain.

3) Centrallized Resource Management, esp Centrallized user management, so that a user can be login from any machine in the Domain, or user can only be login from some specific machines. And Group Policy.

4) Organizational Unit, so that i can delegate adminstrative control in domain to others as well.

5) sites -- to manage replication traffic