108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Changing lp spooler defaults

SOLVED
Go to solution
Daniel Gowans
Advisor

Changing lp spooler defaults

I have never done printing on HP-UX before, and am trying to get it working to my liking. I have an HP Jetdirect box. I installed the HP jetdirect software, and it added the printer to my print queue. The printer is an HP Laserjet 4. It is hooked to port 1 of the jetdirect. It uses the 'net_ljx000' driver.

Printing works fine, I just want to know how to set defaults. First, it always prints landscape. How do I get portrait to be the default? Secondly, it always prints this initial banner page with the username in giant letters, the request, options, date, option summary, etc. I really don't want to print this page- just the document. How do I turn that off too?

Thanks for any help!
8 REPLIES 8
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: Changing lp spooler defaults

cd /var/spool/lp/interface/model.orig

First make a copy of your current interface.
e.g. cp myprinter myprinter.saf
vi myprinter

You will probably see a line
banner=$DEF
change it to
banner=""

also
orientation="def"
change it to
orientation="p"

Save the file and you should be done.

If it ain't broke, I can fix that.
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor

Daniel,

You need to look into options for the lp command. For portrait mode, use "lp -oport". For no banner, use "lp -onob".

For a list of options, print a file with lp -ooptions.

Pete

Pete
Rita C Workman
Honored Contributor

You loaded the jetdirect software and " IT " added the printer to your print queue.
Are you talking Windows....or HPUX??

Did you on your HPUX server either run jetadmin or use SAM to add/create the printer & print queue??

If you want to 'modify' some of the default settings for a printer, you could go in to the /etc/lp/interface/ file and do some 'tweeking'. But, since your a novice on this, I wouldn't recommend that.