108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Debian 7.0.0 on HP ML 350 G5 server

SOLVED
Go to solution
compunuts
Occasional Collector

Debian 7.0.0 on HP ML 350 G5 server

I recently acquired a used HP ProLiant ML 350 G5 system. I'm totally new to server hardwares.

Here are a few questions.

1. How do I make use of smart array hardware? It currently have 6 x 36 GB SAS drives and 2 x 72 GB SAS drives. If I were to use RAID array, do I use LVM option on Debian 7 installer rather than whole drive option which shows I have 8 separate drives?

2. If I were to use RAID, what is the best RAID setup to use for a web server which I plan to test various web sites with database backend? Space is not my most concern since it will only be test server and not actual production server.

3. How do I connect to iLO? Does a NIC cable need to connect to a switch and then access it via that way?

TIA

3 REPLIES 3
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor
Solution

1.) You probably should configure the SmartArray (press F8 at boot when you see the SmartArray start-up message) to give you a suitable RAID set. Whether you use LVM or not is your choice - but in server use, I strongly recommend using it.

Once the array is configured, the OS installer should show you only the RAID sets you configure at the SmartArray level, not the actual individual disk drives.

2.) The ML350 G5 has a SmartArray E200i controller, which supports RAID 5 only if you have the optional Battery-Backed Write Cache module installed.

Normally I would avoid using dissimilar disks in the same RAID set, so I would configure the 2x 72 GB drives as a RAID1 set, and the 6x 36 GB as a single RAID5 set if space is the primary requirement. This would give you a total of 72 GB (RAID1) + 180 GB (RAID5) of storage.

After configuring the RAID at the SmartArray level, you should see two disks: /dev/cciss/c0d0 and /dev/cciss/c0d1.