Operating System - HP-UX
1752798 Members
5698 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Determining which processes are increasing memory (Historical Data)

Tony Vargas

Determining which processes are increasing memory (Historical Data)

After searching, I haven't found a thread dealing with this issue, so...

I'm trying to determine a means to an end. We see a slight, but worrisome increase in memory consumption on a machine over a three day period that we simply rebooted on Friday and left running over the weekend with nothing special running and would like to get 'under the hood' and determine what/which process(es) are responsible for this difference.

I'm relatively new to the wonderful world of PerfView and don't see a way of isolating what is increasing memory consumption over a historical period (as can be done in real time with Glance) so we can better research the problem and see if it's a programming problem or whathaveyou.

Now, ideally we could do this with PerfView, but as I said, we haven't seen a way to do this up to now. I know that, the ps -el | more command offers us page 'sz' (size) of physical pages of a process. We've thought about maybe working on a script that compares this size figure on a process by process basis, but this may not be cut and dry remedy either.

Therefore, I thought it could be helpful to throw ourselves upon the mercy of the court and see if someone may have a useful suggestion that could help us out. Is there a way to accomplish this with PerfView or would a perl script be a better way to go about this? Has anyone done anything similar that may be of benefit?

BTW, this is my first post here. I really enjoy these forums. Kudos on the excellent work. These are really invaluable.
4 REPLIES 4
Chris Wilshaw
Honored Contributor

Re: Determining which processes are increasing memory (Historical Data)

Rather than using ps -el to get the memory use, you can use

UNIX95= ps -eopid,vsz,args | sort -nk2