5722 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP-UX and other o.s.

SOLVED
Go to solution

HP-UX and other o.s.

Hi all.

I'm relatively new at hp-ux. In the past I had the opportunity to familiarize myself with other Unix flavours (such as Solaris, Aix and Linux).

I don't know if this is the correct place to ask such a question, but I would like to know what are the main differences between these o.s.

I know this sound a bit generic, all I want to get is a piece of advice (that is, if I had to recommend one of the o.s. below:

- HP-UX
- Linux
_ Solaris
- AIX

Which one is worth to choose, particularly as far as future perspective is concerned?

Many thanks

Manfred
16 REPLIES 16
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor

Manfred,

That's an interesting question to ask in a HP-UX forum. I wonder what the answer will be???

In my own opinion, HP-UX wins, hands down!

Pete

Pete
Steven E. Protter
Exalted Contributor

Remember Mr. Scott from the Enterprise?

"The right tool for the right job"

HP-UX which I know well is an industrial strength, highly scalable proprietary OS. You won't be re-writing OS componenents there. You will get great reliabilty. ]

The hardware it runs in is expensive but built like an Abrams tank. Its very good for high stress high availability applications.

Linux, which I've used for years and run a webhosting business on, is not quite up to the HP-UX standard. Its good, eminently patchable, and ships more secure than HP-UX.

When the project can't afford PA-RISC or expensive Itanium hardware, Linux is a good alternative. With LVM its a good option.

Solaris is the market share leader. I know little else about it, though I have some stick time as an admin. AIX, I know nothing about.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
MarkSyder
Honored Contributor

Hi Manfred,