1752608 Members
4175 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Hi - I'm a writer for hp and I'd like to make this forum relevant to you

Maureen Rakel
Advisor

Hi - I'm a writer for hp and I'd like to make this forum relevant to you

My name is Maureen - I'm the owner of the www.twitter.com/HP_UX_Docs account and I've been writing for HP-UX for over 5 years now. I've been asked to pay some attention to this forum - to make it useful and relevent to our customers. I'm going to start posting new documentation announcements here, the way I've done for Twitter. I hope to grow this community, which includes taking feedback regarding our documentation.

Let me know of any content you'd like to see on this forum besides the posting of new docs - any ideas you have.  Looking forward to it!

7 REPLIES 7
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

Thank you for sharing this.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

@Maureen Rakel wrote:

I'm going to start posting new documentation announcements here, the way I've done for Twitter. I hope to grow this community, which includes taking feedback regarding our documentation.

Let me know of ... any ideas you have.

Hi Maureen:

First, bring back the ability to get documentation in both HTML and PDF format.  Next, provide a better way to find documents.  The requirement for having a PDF to just get an index of what's available is annoying.  At least make that initial "index" HTML.

It would be nice to give document URLs some meaningful name as in the past.  Base names like "c01234567" are meaningless.  Metadata is always useful.

The subject of HP documentaton was discussed over a year ago, initiated by Torsten here:

http://h30499.www3.hp.com/t5/Your-Questions-Regarding-ITRC/an-excellent-resource-replaced-by-worst-docs-hp-com-vs-BSC/td-p/4627287/highlight/true