4168 Online
108757 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: High CPU usage by Oracle processes

fly_fisher
Advisor

High CPU usage by Oracle processes

Hi you all,

I'm having a performance problem with a machine. The CPU is near 100%. After seeing what processes are the guilty ones I've seen they are some Oracle ones. I'm a newbie with Oracle. Here I send you the init.ora file. I'm afraid the DB is not well dimensioned. There are a lot of processes like:

oracle 28834 1 19 11:07:16 ? 0:00 oracleNMPROD (DESCRIPTION=(LOCAL=no)(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=BEQ))

they end very fast, but there are many of them each second.

So my question is, how could be reduced the CPU usage (if possible)?

Memory 512 MB
2 CPU's 450 MHZ
SO HPUX 11.0

Thank you very much for your help,
Regards.
Catch and release !!!!!!
6 REPLIES 6
fly_fisher
Advisor

I forgot to say it's Oracle 8.1.6

Thanks.
Catch and release !!!!!!
Sanjay_6
Honored Contributor

Hi Rafael,

Take a Look at this thread,

http://technet.oracle.com/doc/hp/server.804/A59371_01/ch3_opt.htm#8830

Hope this helps.

Regds
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

The very first thing to check is the value of the kernel tunable 'timeslice'. There has been a Tuned Parameter set for databases that wrongly set timeslice to 1 rather than 10.
If it ain't broke, I can fix that.
fly_fisher
Advisor

Hi A.Clay,

timeslice is 10;

Thank you very much. I've seen in Glance that the CPU is being used mainly by these system calls:

System Call Name ID Count Rate CPU Time Cum CPU
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
exit
1 446 91.0 0.62159 148.23025
fork 2 984 189.2 0.43792 107.06064
Catch and release !!!!!!
MANOJ SRIVASTAVA
Honored Contributor

Hi Rafael