New Discussion юеВ

Re: LVM in Linux

SOLVED
Go to solution
Faizer Jameel
Frequent Advisor

LVM in Linux

Dear All
I have used LVM's in HP unix and am very famillair with it, but this is the first time I am using RHEL Linux ES4. I have a blade with 2 146gb disks. I want to set up the LV's as we do in HP Unix.[ /dev/vg00/lvol1, etc] Then I want to have a vg01 with lvol1 lvol2. I want to create a file systems and then mount it.How do I do this and can anyone provide me with the required steps. Please do not refer me to some manual. I am just brand new to Linux.
Thanking you
Faizer
5 REPLIES 5
Ivan Ferreira
Honored Contributor

pvcreate /dev/sda
vgcreate /dev/sda datavg
lvcreate -L MB -n datavg
mkfs -t ext3 /dev/datavg/datalv
tune2fs -c 0 -i 0 -m 0 /dev/datavg/datalv
Modify /etc/fstab.
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
skt_skt
Honored Contributor

is that a good practice to set c or i to zero ,which will disable th FS check?
Stuart Browne
Honored Contributor

If you're using a manual install, you have to use the GUI interface to do LVM's easily.

If you're doing a kickstart, you can set the LVM stuff up in your kickstart without any issue.

If it's an already installed system, then basically what Ivan said :)
One long-haired git at your service...
Zeev Schultz
Honored Contributor
Solution

run system-config-lvm and it will give you LVM gui which is pretty much self explaining. Keep in mind that:

disk devices in Linux are /dev/sdXY (where X is from a to z,Y from 1 to ...) and not like /dev/dsk/cXtYdZ. fdisk -l will show you all your disks/partitions.

So computers don't think yet. At least not chess computers. - Seymour Cray
Ivan Ferreira
Honored Contributor

>> is that a good practice to set c or i to zero ,which will disable th FS check?

For ext3 it is, because the information needed to maintain FS integrity is in the journal.