Operating System - Linux
1745786 Members
3915 Online
108722 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Linux HATES my hard drive (or I dont know what im doing)

Evan Platt

Linux HATES my hard drive (or I dont know what im doing)

I have a Pavilion ze5000 with 30gb hard drive and P4 2.2GHz. I'm relatively new to linux, but I've done installations of Debian and SuSE on a desktop a few times before. I can not get Linux to load on this laptop.
Over the past two weeks I have tried to install SuSE 7.3 and 8.0, Debian, Redhat and even PhatLinux. I can't get any to load succesfully. If I can manage to get the drive partitioned without errors like "invaled partition table" or something similar (on a newly formated drive). In Red Hat, I can get about half way through the install before being thrown out on installation. SuSE I can get through the 1st CD and then thrown out (with occasional "xxxx package reported errors" messages. Debian will load but as soon as I restart I freeze on boot with "read-only filesystem" error, or "something not synching" error. Phat Linux won't load because it has errors accessing the drive and eventually has a kernel panic and stops.

Is there a setting I need to change here or something? I have the latest BIOS, I've tried installing with and without Windows XP on a different partition, before and after the linux partition. I've tried FAT32 and NTFS filesystems for the Windows XP style. I always have less than 4 primary partitions, I've Used fdisk, cfdisk and disk druid. Once in a while something will look promising but I'm getting REALLY frustrated.

Any help appreciated...

Thanks,
Evan
5 REPLIES 5
Dirk Wiedemann
Respected Contributor

Hello Evan,

please try the following:

set boot parameter idebus=66
(http://bizforums.itrc.hp.com/cm/QuestionAnswer/1,,0x2bf6227a4bc6d611abdb0090277a778c,00.html)

maybe this works...good luck
Dirk
Dirk Wiedemann
Respected Contributor

Huu? Anyway my browser was confused...
here is the link: