7430 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Linux Mentor Wanted

Lucifer Megacruel
Valued Contributor

Hi Robert,

I can help you? what specifically is your problem. To create an account you need to used the useradd command or some distro's provide an interactive adduser script.

I can help you with basics. One of the best free linux resources out there is TLPD project. See :http://tldp.org/ . There are lots of documents out there that might help you :) rather than me writing things out in email.

Linux/unix design is different from VMS , The famous unix abstraction is everything is either a file or hack :P.

When I was a student I used to create small linux distros for fun I can help you if you need help in that direction as well.
Truly Evil
Lucifer Megacruel.
"To Denouce the Evils of Truth and Love. To cause may hem and destruction and necromancy , Lucifer is here"
FLQ
Valued Contributor

Hi Robert,

I'll gladly help :-)

use the email in my profile.

Cheers
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

> use the email in my profile.

Have you tried to find an e-mail address in
anyone else's forum profile?
Lucifer Megacruel
Valued Contributor

Hi Robert,

Since I did not get time to reply in length the first time replied, I will reply at length this time.

First thing you need to do is pick your own linux distribution. According to the package manager ( ie the program used to install binaries )used we can roughly classify them into
(a) RPM based distros (b) Debian based distros ( c) Slackware based ( .tgz ) ( d) Gentoo based or Custom Linux distros.

There are lot of distro's out there each with its own merits and demerits. I prefer Slackware because it is the most technically challenging and customizable distro out there. The problem with Slackware is that its package management is not that great. But that's okay since you use Slackware, you are expected to be nerdy and you know how to figure things out your own way :) .

How do I get help in a Linux system ?