Memory problems on HP-UX 11i

SOLVED
Go to solution
Rems Grinsteinss
Occasional Contributor

Memory problems on HP-UX 11i

Hi,
I am a Oracle DBA from Latvia.
My server configuration is HP 9000 L1000, 1 CPU, 256 RAM.

I have a performance problem. When server is recently booted everytiging works fine, but after a while it starts to work realy slow. It is my quess, that somehow memory is filled and not freed. Therefor Oracle uses swap instead of RAM. Also I have seen errors like "fork failed with status 12" and "bus error".

Can anyone suggest me something?

I have no performance tools installed on this server.
11 REPLIES 11
T G Manikandan
Honored Contributor

Re: Memory problems on HP-UX 11i

fork failed is that the user login or the system is unable to spawn new processes as the upper limit of the processes was reached.

check for values of the kernel parameters

maxuprc and nproc whether they are optimum for the server and user

maxuprc-->maximum number of user processes

nproc--->maximum total number of processes.

check for the /var/adm/syslog/syslog.log file for the bus error additional information.

Also post your kernel parameter values

James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi:

You *really* need to add more memory. 256MB is pitifully small.

Errno 12 is an out-of-memory. You may be able to improve things slightly by adding more swap.

Check your swap utilization with:

# swapinfo -tam

Remember that you can add secondary device swap without a reboot, assuming thatyourkernel's 'maxswapchunks' doesn't need increasing. Choose swap device locations that are *not* on vg00 (with your primary one) and assign an equal swap priority to the secondary devices to arm I/O interleaving.

Regards!

...JRF...
harry d brown jr
Honored Contributor

If you haven't already, you can install a trial version of glance - which I think is good for 30 day's.

256MB of ram really isn't sufficient for oracle.

What version of 11 are you running, and what version of oracle?