New Discussion юеВ

Re: Modem Configuration!

SOLVED
Go to solution
Pinki Meggi
Frequent Advisor

Modem Configuration!

Hi,

Im very new with Linux. Im working with RHES3 and im trying to install and test efax package. For that i have add a modem to my PC ( Lucent HV90P-T ). But i have no idea how to test if the modem is installed and configured. I have tried to find out about the configuration of modem and i have find this article at www.redhat.com:
" Hardware modems should require no special configuration to work. once inserted and detected by the system, they should be accessible by the standard device special files /dev/ttys[0-3]"
But i have no ideia how to know if it is accessible or not.

If anyone can help me, please, or indicate any documentation to guide me, please.

Thanks in advance

Best Regards

Pinki
4 REPLIES 4
g33k
Valued Contributor

http://www.die.net/doc/linux/man/man1/minicom.1.html

minicom utility is used to comunicated with serial devices, like modems .... so read link about maybe it will help you
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Sadly, most internal modems these days are best known as "winmodems" or "controllerless modems". Instead of behaving like a standard serial port, they have a model-specific, undocumented hardware interface. Often a driver exists only for some versions of Microsoft Windows - hence the name "winmodems".

This is an effort to reduce the number and complexity of the modem components, and it pushes to the CPU most of the workload that used to be handled by the modem hardware.

However, there are still a few internal modems that are constructed in the old way, and are easily useable in Linux.

This sad state does not affect external modems: all external modems that connect to the computer through a serial port (aka COM port) should be useable with Linux without extra trouble.