4267 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Mouse isn't working

Darrell Allen
Honored Contributor

Mouse isn't working

Hi everyone,

I've just installed Red Hat 7.2 on an older Pentium based PC. The mouse and keyboard worked during the installation but does not after I boot. The KDE login screen appears but is unresponsive (mouse pointer doesn't move nor does it appear the keyboard is responding). The keyboard does respond at the GRUB screen.

I presume I have the wrong mouse configured (it's a generic P/S 2, 2-button mouse) and apparantly the wrong keyboard. So, how do I access the box if the mouse and keyboard don't seem to be responding at the KDE login screen? Can I boot into single-user mode? Then, how do I change the config for the mouse and / or keyboard?

It's obvious I'm new to Linux isn't it?

Thanks,
Darrell
"What, Me Worry?" - Alfred E. Neuman (Mad Magazine)
9 REPLIES 9
Mark Fenton
Esteemed Contributor

Re: Mouse isn't working

Darrell,

Try this:

Boot to single user mode (boot -s)
run Xconfigurator and change the settings for keyboard and mouse there (SAVE your old Xconfiguration first!)
Wodisch
Honored Contributor

Hello Darell,

try moving your mouse while booting.
Then it sends "mickeys" to the computer and can be indentified - older mice sometimes did not respond properly to the detection when not moved...

HTH,
Wodisch
Darrell Allen
Honored Contributor

Tried moving the mouse - it didn't help.

I didn't figure out how to get to a point to enter "boot -s". I can interact with GRUB and get a "command line" in GRUB. Keyboard works fine there. When I continue the boot I see a prompt to enter "I" to interact. The keyboard also works during that. But when I let it boot up to KDE the keyboard is un-responsive.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Darrell
Paulo A G Fessel
Trusted Contributor

As to make a single-user boot with Grub, take a look at this link:

http://www.tek-tips.com/gviewthread.cfm/lev2/3/lev3/20/pid/54/qid/174649