1748210 Members
2964 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Oracle Export / Import

Darren Etheridge_2
Super Advisor

Oracle Export / Import

Hello everyone. I am kinda new to oracle and need some direction. I have 2 systems, both with Oracle 8.1.7 and HP-UX 11i on them. I would like to export a Oracle DB from one machine and move it to the other. I am kinda confused on a couple of things. 1st - Do I need to create the DB on the new machine or will the import do this for me? 2nd - When Importing, will the import place the files in the exact location as they were on the machine I exported them from? Any help/procedures/directions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!
6 REPLIES 6
Steven E. Protter
Exalted Contributor

Re: Oracle Export / Import

You have two options that I know work.

One is to create a db on the second server and use the import tool to bring in the file you exported from the first server.

You also may do whats called database cloning.

Shut down the database on server1

Copy all the files to server2 via ftp, tape transfer whatever.

generate new control files(I think) on server2 to accomodate instance name not being the same(you don't want the same instance name on two machines).

bring up the database.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
Jean-Luc Oudart
Honored Contributor

If I understand you want to clone your database onto another server , same OS and same Oracle version installed.

Database cloning : follow the link

http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=227394

Regards,
Jean-Luc
fiat lux
Michael Schulte zur Sur
Honored Contributor

Hi,

1st: Yes, you will have to create the instance on the second database.
2nd: If you mean tablespaces with location, then the answer is yes.