New Discussion юеВ

Re: Oracle backup and restore

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jiang Li_1
Advisor

Oracle backup and restore

Hi here,

I'm new to oracle, but I need do a backup job for one oracle 8i server here. The server is running HPUX11.0 OS. I have some ideas about exp/imp backup method and cold database backup. But I don't know how to recover the database server if the server need to be reinstalled. I do have a make_net_recover backup for vg00. But I found there are a lot of logical volumes in vg01 which are used by Oracle for raw devices.

I can't use other commercial backup tools for the backup at this stage. I have dump files created by exp command, I also have cold backup files created by the script which is easy to get from internet.

Can anybody here give me suggestions on how to restore the server after make_net_recovery ? I know how to recover OS but not sure how to recover Oracle and the database.

Thanks in advance.
18 REPLIES 18
Chris Evans_5
Frequent Advisor

Hi there,

Once you have the operating system back you will need to recover or reinstall the oracle software.

When this is back you can recover from your cold backup tape.... do you know how to do this? if not what commands are you using to backup the database? (tar, cpio, fbackup???, once we know the commands used to do the backup we can let you know the commands to do the restore)

Do your cold backup tapes include the init file(s) for your database(s)? If not you will need to recreate these files.

Once the all the files are back you can then bring the database up in your normal way.

To recover from an export it is slightly more difficult. You will need to create the database structure first, ie datafiles and tablespaces. You can then use the imp command to import all of the data, using the full=y option.

Hope this helps you a little.
If you need anything clearing up then yell.

Chris
Jiang Li_1
Advisor

Hi Chris,

Thank you very much for your prompt response !