3552 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: PERFSTATreport

Giada Bonf├а
Frequent Advisor

PERFSTATreport

Hi,

I did a PERFSTAT report with spreport and I have attached it.
I would like to know if my database is working fine. I would like to learn understanding this kind of report so it would be useful if someone could explain to me how to do it and which are the parameter that I have to look.
I'm quite new to Oracle tuning so every advice is useful for me
Thank you

6 REPLIES 6
Yogeeraj_1
Honored Contributor

hi,

Your window size is too large for this type of STATSPACK analysis.

A Statspack report generated with a 15 minutes window is as valid as one with a one-hour window (or an even larger timeframe). In fact, as the window gets larger, it may become difficult to come to definitive conclusions given the raw numeric data.

If you take a level 10 every 15 minutes for a day. Then, pick a representative 15 minute window when performance was "felt to be at its worst", we can try to analyze that one.

Anyway, if i analyze the first part of the report:
=======================================================================
Load Profile
~~~~~~~~~~~~ Per Second Per Transaction
--------------- ---------------
Redo size: 1,138.73 30,173.91
Logical reads: 1,052.11 27,878.63
Block changes: 2.21 58.52
Physical reads: 63.58 1,684.71
Physical writes: 63.71 1,688.20
User calls: 4.33 114.80
Parses: 1.04 27.46
Hard parses: 0.04 1.12
Sorts: 0.45 11.81
Logons: 0.06 1.70
Executes: 1.67 44.38
Transactions: 0.04

=======================================================================

In this section, we get a great deal of information, in a very small amount of space. We can see how much REDO is generated on average every second and for every transaction.

here, we can see that there are about 1 KN of redo per second. The average transaction generates 30KB of redo!

Very difficult to interprete these values.

Hence, i recommend that you take other snapshots and post again.