New Discussion юеВ

Re: RHL video error on a hp lh netserver---x86config file attached

SOLVED
Go to solution
channa
Occasional Advisor

RHL video error on a hp lh netserver---x86config file attached

Hi,

This is a continuation of my previous post on the same topic.

I have installed redhat linux 9 in the text mode, but the i get the video error when i type the startx at the command prompt.

The attachment contains the Xf86config file and the xfree86.o.log file which is the server out file.

somebody please help me on configuring the gui. I am new to this linux and don't know much about the xfree86 file.
7 REPLIES 7
Jerome Henry
Honored Contributor

Hi Channa,

Looking at your file shows that your system didn't configure video card, nor than screen.

Try to run redhat-config-xfree86, and set video card to trident 9000i, and screen to standard 800x600.

Please do no forget to assign points, it helps to know if our replies are of any help...

hth

J
You can lean only on what resists you...
Caesar_3
Esteemed Contributor

Hello!

Looks like problem with the driver that
cann't work with the graphic card.
Did you choose the driver for the card
or it's done automaticly?

You should check and use with driver
for your card and not the vesa (standart driver).

Caesar
channa
Occasional Advisor

Hi,

Thanx for the insant replies. I am sorry about not mentioning the points.

As you know that i have installed linux in the text mode. so when i enter the command redhat-config-xfree86, i get the following error
*ddc probe returned with bogus values
id:none
name: none
HorizSync: none
VertSync:none
couldn't start X server. trying with a fresh configuration.

trying with card: vesa driver(generic)
Error, cannot start X server.

When i installed redhat linux 7.1 in the GUI mode, after the completion of the install, the graphics driver was not working. However in RHL 8 and 9, the GUI installations hangs during the loading of boot files.

Hence the text mode installation.