5700 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: SFTP installationon HP-UX server

mahmo_t
Frequent Visitor

SFTP installationon HP-UX server

Hi,

I would like to instal SFTP server on my HPUX server please. I think it was installed previously but somehow stopped working after a power cut down. I am fairly new at this so be patient please :)

9 REPLIES 9
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

mahmo_t
Frequent Visitor

Point taken. I have two servers SCP1 and SCP2. I cannot SFTP into SCP2 while SCP1 is fine.

While I try and sftp from a client machine into SCP2 I get the following message

Xshell:\> sftp 10.16.2.82     

Connecting to host 10.16.2.82:22...     
Could not connect to '10.16.2.82' (port 22): Connection failed.     

Type `help' to learn how to use Xshell prompt.     
Xshell:\>  

below are the results of ps and like you rightly pointed out evidence that sftp is probably still installed. Can you kindly show me where else I could look please?

SCP2 # ps -ef | grep sftp
    root 22358 19702  0 17:26:56 pts/ta    0:00 grep sftp

SCP1 # ps -ef | grep sftp
     scu 26932 26931  0  Jul 17  ?         0:00 csh -c /opt/ssh/libexec/sftp-server
     scu 26933 26932  0  Jul 17  ?         0:00 /opt/ssh/libexec/sftp-server
     scu 15990 15869  0 17:39:05 pts/0     0:00 grep sftp

SCP1 & SCP2 # cd /opt/ssh/libexec
SCP1 & SCP2 #ls
sftp-server      ssh-keysign      ssh-rand-helper

Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

mahmo_t
Frequent Visitor

Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

I've understood that Steven Schweda posts his answers as attachments because this community has some issues on the OS platform he uses.

SFTP is an extension of the SSH protocol, so a basic SSH connection is a necessary requirement for SFTP.