7833 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Showing printer errors on remote screen

SOLVED
Go to solution
Xaviea Bell

Showing printer errors on remote screen

Hi I am new to this and I obviously have a question. I want to set up the capability to have the printer's errors/exceptions (out of paper, printer jam) mailed to me or have a way for me to check every so often to see if it has had any errors. Any help with this will be perfect. Thanks
4 REPLIES 4
Phil Crooker
Advisor
Solution

Re: Showing printer errors on remote screen

Are you using HPDPS (HP Distributed Print Service)? Although this system is quite a hassle to configure, you can get these types of errors to be emailed.

To start, have a look at "What is HPDPS" under Printers and Plotters / HPDPS in SAM, they are reasonably detailed.

Good luck.
Mauro Gatti
Valued Contributor

I think you can also try to use snmp trap mechanism.

RGDS

Mauro
Ubi maior, minor cessat!
Bill Hassell
Honored Contributor

Printers are disabled whenever the printer script returns a non-zero exit code. There is no mechanism in lp to send a mail message so you would have to modify each of the printer scripts to use a trap for all signals (including zero which is a normal exit) and check for the condition. lp printing is very primitive so paper jams or out of paper are not detected because printing is one-way. Now with HP's JetDirect connections, you have a lot more options in the interface script and the hpnpadmin tool can provide a lot of details. But none of these changes will catch a user that manually disables the printer (the disable command).

So the best solution is to create a script that uses lpstat to find problems. Start with lpstat -r and make sure the scheduler is actually running--send an email message if not. Then check the status of each printer. NOTE: lpstat -t will give you detailed info on all printers but for remote printers where the server is not working right, it will delay for 30 seconds or so.