1748177 Members
4051 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: UUEncode

John_247

UUEncode

Help, We recieve a daily lot forcast that is generated by a company on a HP-UX 10.2 machine as a .csv file and emailed to us. We are using Excahnge 5.5 SP3. These csv files were coming in just fine until they upgraded to 11.0 on the UX machine. It appears as though they have stopped using mime or are using a version of uuencode that is foriegn to our outlook clients and or server. Our exchange box and clients arent having issues with any other email that they recieve. Is this a default with UX 11.0 and is there something that they can do on their end to help fix this? Thank You,

John Hicks
5 REPLIES 5
Darrell Allen
Honored Contributor

Hi John,

I'm no expert on this but I did work or it yesterday (searching the forums, trying a number of suggestions). Here's what I found to work for me on my HP-UX 11.0 box.

Create a file specifying what to email. Mine is named "include". It's contents are:
[include MSexcel.xls application/octet-stream base64]
[include MSword.doc application/octet-stream base64]
[include text.txt application/octet-stream base64]

Send the files like this:
elm -s "Subject text" somebody@somewhere.com
This delivers MSexcel.xls, MSword.doc, and text.txt as 3 separate attachments that I can open on my PC without problem using Excel, Word, and notepad respectively. This worked with my Outlook and Lotus Notes email clients both.

I found other posts saying to use "[include text.txt text/plain base64]" for ascii files however doing that caused text.txt to be sent in the body of the message instead of as an attachment.

Darrell
"What, Me Worry?" - Alfred E. Neuman (Mad Magazine)
Jordan Bean
Honored Contributor