4244 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Uninstalling DB2 using SWREMOVE

JJ_8
Occasional Contributor

Uninstalling DB2 using SWREMOVE

Hi All.

I am trying to uninstall DB2 using SWREMOVE but I get the following errors, I have never used HP-UX before so I am quite lost. Would apprciate if someone could help me out.

ERROR: Cannot continue the Analysis Phase until the previous errors are corrected.
* Beginning Analysis Phase.
* Target: moby:/
* Target logfile: moby:/var/adm/sw/swagent.log
* Reading source for file information.
ERROR: File "/var/adm/sw/products/DB2V7ENTP/pfiles/INFO" does not
exist.
ERROR: The catalog files for product
"DB2V7ENTP,l=/opt/IBMdb2/V7.1,r=7.1.0.40" failed to load.
Check the above output for details.
ERROR: Cannot continue the Analysis Phase until the previous errors
are corrected.
Thanks a lot in advance.
9 REPLIES 9
Michael Tully
Honored Contributor

Re: Uninstalling DB2 using SWREMOVE

Hi,

unless the software was installed using the standard install tool 'swinstall' then you won't be able to remove using 'swremove'. To check what has been installed using 'swinstall' you can use 'swlist -a revision'

If the software is in a particular filesystem it can removed that way.

HTH
~Michael~
Anyone for a Mutiny ?
Rainer von Bongartz
Honored Contributor

Do you have the directory

/var/adm/sw/products/DB2V7ENTP

swremove will use the information herein what to remove from your DB2 installation.

Did you use swinstall or IBM's setup scripts when installing DB2

Regards
rainer
He's a real UNIX Man, sitting in his UNIX LAN making all his UNIX plans for nobody ...
Stefan Farrelly
Honored Contributor

DB2 wasnt installed using HP's Software distributor (swinstall) so you cannot remove it using swremove. Check your DB2 documentation as to how to remove it.
Im from Palmerston North, New Zealand, but somehow ended up in London...
JJ_8
Occasional Contributor