Operating System - HP-UX
1751786 Members
4988 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Which came first, the sed & awk or the Perl?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jim Mallett
Honored Contributor

Which came first, the sed & awk or the Perl?

Ok, I've picked up a few scripting books recommended on the forum and I'm going to dive into them this weekend. Which would be the logical first choice to read? Sed & Awk, or Perl? Does one lend itself to the other? How much coffee should I make beforehand?

Actually, one other question. I have Cygwin on my laptop and can practice scripting at home. Will I find the Cygwin versions of sed/awk/perl to be different than the HP-UX releases? (extra pts for this one)

Any thoughts are appreciated....

Jim Mallett
Hindsight is 20/20
17 REPLIES 17
Chris Vail
Honored Contributor

Re: Which came first, the sed & awk or the Perl?

Study BOTH, or ALL (depending on how you phrase it)

I've been doing shell scripting in one form or fashion for nearly 20 years, and I'm still learning stuff. Open in front of me on the desk I type this are 3 O'Reilly books: _Learning Perl_, _Effective Awk Programming_, and _Mastering Regular Expresssions_.

These are all complementary, not competing. They work together quite well. I really know nothing of PERL, but am learning. Sed & awk are what I use most commonly, but awk is a programming language all by itself. Generally, PERL is considered a superset of awk.

Most importantly: LOTS of coffee, followed by beer.

Chris
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor
Solution

Both are good BUT if I were starting over, I would go only with Perl. There is really nothing you can do with sed, awk, sort, grep, sh, ... that you can't do with Perl directly. The price you pay is that the learning curve is steeper but the regular expressions in Perl are on steroids. If you learn Perl RE's first then some of the things can't be applied to sed or awk.