New Discussion юеВ

X-window start automatically and graphic resolution problem

SOLVED
Go to solution
bouazzaoui
Frequent Advisor

X-window start automatically and graphic resolution problem

Hi,
I'm a newbie in Linux environnement, and I installed Red HAT 9 on a Compaq Deskpro machine.
I configured my system to boot automatically into a graphic environnement(bad idea :( )
It worked normally, but I changed the resolution of my machine, wish is not supported by my monitor, so now I'm unable to see anything .
How can I go back to the last resolution? could you please give me the exact action I should take?

Many thanks for your help
regards,

10 REPLIES 10
Balaji N
Honored Contributor

Re: X-window start automatically and graphic resolution problem

1. try ctrl+alt+f1 or ctrl+alt+f2 and see if you are able to get a terminal. login to the terminal. run init 3. and then run redhat-config-xfree86 and set your setting again. alternatively see if there is a backup in /etc/X11 of your original configuration file. just replace it back and give init 5.

2. if you are unable to get to the console prompt now, do a reboot. at the boot prompt, type linux 3 if u use lilo or edit the kernel argument (second line with e) and then append 3 if u use grub. once u get a prompt, follow steps detailed above.

hth
-balaji
Its Always Important To Know, What People Think Of You. Then, Of Course, You Surprise Them By Giving More.
bouazzaoui
Frequent Advisor

the fastest answer I ever had! ;)

I tried to follow step 1: ctrl+Alt+F1... and I got a terminal console
I logon as root and run init 3 command
I got this:
- linuxlabtest login: Starting pcmcia [OK}
- Starting automount: No Mountpoints defined [OK]
I pressed enter twice and I got the login invite again.
after I logged again I ran redhat-config-xfree386 command, and system go back to a dark screen :(