Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Xen Multipath Virtualization

SOLVED
Go to solution
Gilbert Standen_1
Frequent Advisor

Xen Multipath Virtualization

Hi, I recently did a 64-bit Oracle 2-node RAC production deployment on RHEL 5.3 Linux for an HP consulting client (I am an HP consultant). I prototyped the system on a laptop for the client mostly to work through any software issues on the OS or Oracle software before doing the actual install on the production blades. The prototype was on CentOS 5.3 running the Xen kernel (2 Centos 5.3 DomU's) on intel dual core T3400 EM64T running 4Gb memory.

My question is this: Underneath the Oracle installation (which I did as Oracle DBA) we enter the world of how the multipathing can be designed, about which as an Oracle DBA I know not so much as I do about Oracle.

First, we did the devices using (deprecated) raw devices by making use of the various files in the /etc/udev/rules.d directory since there is no more "service rawdevices start" etc. We could have used dm-multipath though, and I'd like to do some prototyping of that on my Xen VM prototypes of our system using dm-multipath instead of rawdevices approach.

So what I am wondering about is this: I have done my shared disk on the domU's for rac this way: they are files on disk of this presentation type to the domU's:

disk = [ "tap:aio:/vtdev/rac1.img,xvda,w", "tap:aio:/vtdev/hdb,xvdb,!", "tap:aio:/vtdev/hdc,xvdc,!", "tap:aio:/vtdev/hdd,xvdd,!", "tap:aio:/vtdev/hde,xvde,!" ]

The disks with "!" as the last entry are the shared disks (the domU's access these as "shared raw"). This works fine for the RAC prototype.