108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: computer freezes-up

SOLVED
Go to solution
Sugar Gatch
Frequent Advisor

computer freezes-up

It seems like everyday I'll be going along and all of a sudden . The computer will just stop responding when I click. I have to shut it down and start all over. What can I do to make it stop freezing-up?
8 REPLIES 8
Patrick M├╝ller
Frequent Advisor

the most common reason for sudden lockups is defective RAM... try to replace your ram module or put out one after another if have more than one inside to find out which one is broken.

it could also be the cooling system... check with a system monitor if your system overheats.

which os do you have? does it happen randomly is it reproducable?
hth
Patrick
640K ought to be enough for anybody. -Bill Gates 1981
Sugar Gatch
Frequent Advisor

Hi Patrick; I'm just getting started with a computer. I bought it used, so I did'nt get a manual to look stuff up. I don't know how to try the rams individually. Or anything about the cooling system. Were you asking if the problem could be reproduced on purpose?I can tell you that this is a laptop and I have noticed how very hot it can get sometimes. I can be sitting down with it on my lap, and I can feel it almost setting my legs on fire. I had wondered about that. I'm ordering a manual from H.P. and picking up a "how to" book from Barnes & Noble. Then maybe I can check out the things you mentioned. If you think you can explain how to in little baby steps. I can start with one at a time. But I don't want to irritate you.But in any case, I thank you for your input. Sugar
Roger Faucher
Honored Contributor

Sugar: