1753481 Members
4415 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

maxssiz_64bit

Steve Dirschel

maxssiz_64bit

We are attempting to ensure our database server can handle 9000 database connections. At 1 point in the past we ran into a problem where new sessions couldn't be spawned because maxssiz_64bit wasn't sized correctly. Since then it has been increased from 268435456 to 1073741824. I'm a DBA, not a sysadmin- could someone please clarify a few points related to this parameter:

1. Is that parameter per unix process or a combination of all processes an individual user owns? Meaning if all db connections come in under owner oracle does each individual process get to use up to 1073741824 or the combination of all processes owner by oracle are limited to that? Based on the problem in the past I believe it's all processes owned by oracle but a sysadmin has told me differently
2. Is there a relatively easy way to find out how large the stack size is for all my oracle connections? I can go into gpm, select a process, drill down to memory. I've seen some at 192k, some at 256k, and some at 320k. Right now I have 2000 db connections so I'd like to be able to see where stack usage is at under 2k users so I can estimate needs under 4.5 times user volumn.

Assuming this value is a limit for all processes running under Oracle I can see we might have a problem with the current limit
@320k per session = 3200 sessions
@256k per session = 4000 sessions
@192k per session = 5333 sessions

I need more accurate stack usage statistics for all oracle sessions without having to go through 1 by 1 in gpm (imagine doing that to 2k sessions).

Thanks in advance
5 REPLIES 5
Stuart Abramson_2
Honored Contributor

Re: maxssiz_64bit

Here is how I look up kernel parameter descriptions. There may be a better way:
..login as root
..set you display
..sam
....kernel configuration
......configurable parameters
........highlight the parameter in question
........hit "F1"