1753781 Members
7393 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

new computers for the office : compaq s4000 vs ibuypower.com p4

john erickson_1
Advisor

new computers for the office : compaq s4000 vs ibuypower.com p4

as you know i am an administrator and have been asked by my boss to come up with a recommendation on these two systems. I know nothing about hardware and fall prey to the gooble-de gook doubletalk of the pc sellers. this is the bare bodkin: to buy or not to buy: from Best Buy: compaq s4000v 2.4gz p4;512mb ddr/pc2700;80 gig hd(7200rpm);16xdvd-rom;48xcd-rw;integrated 5.1 sound;128nvidiageforcefx5600;floppy;xp home; %$50 rebate=$850 before tax. my questions are: (1) can i add a generic firewire etc. or does compaq have that "you got to buy everything from us" problem they used to have?
(2)is this system compatible with a dell 19 lcd monitor?

Other choice: from ibuypower: 2.4 p4 w asus p4p800 865 chipset;420watt p/s;512 d/c ddr400 pc3200mhz; ati radeon 9600 128mb;16x dvd;cd-rw; creative labs 5.1 sound; pci10/100 net card;floppy;xp home;ieee 1394 f/w
for $1134 +65 ship= $1200. will the dell monitor work well here?

if i recommend "junk" i will be looking for a new job. my boss wants photo processing and data base capabilities with good speed. if anyone has any suggestions on these two machines please let me know.
its never too late to do nothing
5 REPLIES 5
Martin Simnett
Occasional Advisor

Re: new computers for the office : compaq s4000 vs ibuypower.com p4

You should be able to add a generic firewire card to the compaq and any monitor should work on any PC.
If these PC's are to join a domain (properly) you will need to upgrade them to XP Pro.
I have not dealt with ibuypower before but I have not had problems from Compaqs in the past. Both specs however seem OK.
Alexander M. Ermes
Honored Contributor

Hi there.
Remeber :
you might run into compat problems with Compaq.