108806 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: perl delete help

SOLVED
Go to solution
Shaf_1
Advisor

perl delete help

I have some files that I need to delete the header information. I am new to Perl and have no idea on how to approach this. I have attached an example of the files I am working with. I need to be able to delete the header information starting from 'Received:' all the way up to 'DeliveredDate:'. Can anyone please help? Thanks
7 REPLIES 7
John Poff
Honored Contributor
Solution

Hi,

Here is one way to do it. Create a Perl script that will match a range of lines and skip them, otherwise printing the lines. Something like this:

#!/usr/bin/perl

# noheader.pl

while (<>) {
if (/Received:/ .. /DeliveredDate:/) {
next;
} else {
print;
}
}

Now, just run it like this:

./noheader.pl <159191.txt

and it should just print the text you need.

Of course, there are even shorter ways to do it. After I played with this for a bit I figured out that this would also work:

while (<>) {
print unless (/Received:/ .. /DeliveredDate:/);
}

JP

Shaf_1
Advisor

Thank you so much for the help. However, I have a couple of more questions now. When the data is printed how can I save the new output in the same file?

In perl can I have the script to run for over 500 different files at once? Is there a way to avoid entering the file name for every file?
John Poff
Honored Contributor

Hi,

You can use the '-i' option from the Perl command line to edit the file in place. Something like this should work:

perl -i -n -e 'print unless (/Received:/ .. /DeliveredDate:/);' 159191.txt

There are a couple of ways to handle it with a bunch of files. One way would be to put the line above into a small shell script:

for f in *.txt
do
perl -i -n -e 'print unless (/Received:/ .. /DeliveredDate:/);' $f
done

You could also use the file handling machinery inside of Perl and do it in a single script.

JP
Shaf_1
Advisor

Hello,

I put the following in a script as you suggested:

for $f in *.txt
do