New Discussion юеВ

source code

shyam singh bisht
Occasional Advisor

source code

Hi! all
I am new to linux & I need some help.
I have installed RedHat linux 8.0.

now when i downloaded the mozilla firefox for linux & tried to install it ,it gives the error 'glibc-2.3.5 required'.
I downloaded glibc-2.3.5 , now to install it i have to configure & make it.

please suggest how to configure & make this to upgrade the glibc.

any guide on installing softwares like this will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Regards

Shyam
10 REPLIES 10
Chakravarthi
Trusted Contributor

Re: source code

Alex Lavrov.
Honored Contributor

RedHat 8.0 is a very old version. I suggest you to download Fedora Core 3. You'll have different problems with different new applications, because the libraries are just too old on your box.

Here you can obtain it:
http://fedora.redhat.com/download/

Alex.
I don't give a damn for a man that can only spell a word one way. (M. Twain)
renarios
Trusted Contributor

Hi Shyam,

Listen to Alex and forget the old Linux versions. Fedora Core 3 is the latest stable version ans Core 4 is in Beta. Mozilla is part of these distributions.
Also, my experience is that yum works better on Fedora.
Nothing is more successfull as failure
Bejoy C Alias
Respected Contributor

If u downloaded the source code, you can install it using configure, make , make install commands.
First unzip or untar the source code to some directory , cd to that directory , issue the following commands .
1. ./configure
2. make
3. make install
this will install with glibc with default option . ( this procedure is mostly same for all the source code downloads , also there will be a "Readme" or INSTALL file in the extracted directory where u will get more information )
But i dont think that glibc.2.3.5 will get installed in redhat 8.0 . if u downloaded the rpm , it is sure that it will complain about some dependencies and install will fail.
Be Always Joy ......
Gopi Sekar
Honored Contributor