5151 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: suggestion - learning linux

sheevm
Regular Advisor

suggestion - learning linux

Hi!

I have been working with HP-UX for the past 10 years. I would like to get into LINUX world. What is the best way to go about it? I am thinking about LINUX certification. Can you suggest some possible good training/certification centers. My company is not going to pay for this as we do not have any LINUX boxes. This has to be on my own. So I am looking something cheap and best.

Thanks for your input.
be good and do good
11 REPLIES 11
RAC_1
Honored Contributor

I am in same league as of you. I personly started by installing linux (redhet) on my home PC and started hands on. I belive, unless you try hands on there is no point in going for RHCE. (the cost of it is too much for me)

Also, even if you go through, Redhet, system admin primer, custmization guide, getting started guide, ref. guide, security guide, it is very helpful.

You also can get complete command reference by Redhat.

Also, there are a quite a few training centres available that give you traning+certification. Which city you are based out of?? In Banglore/Chennai/Pune/Mumbai, you have kerox, SEED etc.
There is no substitute to HARDWORK
Rick Garland
Honored Contributor

Some time ago I started playing with Linux. Started with home PC and then 2 and finally 3 - all networked.

The learning curve goes way uip when you access/play/work with Linux daily. For this reason I installed RH Linux on my work desktop. All of my desktop functions are Linux. At first it was frowned upon because it was thought that Linux could not be a viable platform to support a PRD environment of HPUX/Solaris/AIX servers.

Actually, I find it easier that using winblows.
I get daily use from Linux.

sheevm
Regular Advisor

Thanks. Id REDHOT LINUX is free down load?

I live in New Jersey area. Any training center in NY/NJ is fine.

Thanks
be good and do good
W Sanders_1
Frequent Advisor