HPE 9000 and HPE e3000 Servers
1752600 Members
4178 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

4440 Connection to Cyclades

Mike L Moranty

4440 Connection to Cyclades

Does anyone know how to connect a 4440 to a Cyclades switch. I am unable to establish a connection using the 9 pin serial port through a Cyclades but can using a direct terminal cable connection.
4 REPLIES 4
cnb
Honored Contributor

Re: 4440 Connection to Cyclades

Hi Mike,

I have no experience with that particlar switch, but here's the pinout diagrams for both server and switches that may help you:

http://docs.hp.com/en/A9950-96011-ed4/A9950-96011-ed4.pdf

http://www.avocent.com/Cyclades_Cabling-Diagrams.aspx

More specific info here to pick your particular switch:

http://www.avocent.com/Cyclades_ACS_6000.aspx

HTH,

Francis No├лl
Regular Advisor

Hi Mike

Dont forget you also need to match the com settings of the cyclades port to those of the MP.

We've used these (TS800) for a number of years and the have been a valuable asset.

Consider purchasing product AB500A (ILO Advanced Pak). It enables SSH access to the MP through its LAN port. We've installed it on our rp3440, disabled all other protocols on the MP LAN port and never looked back.
Mel Burslan
Honored Contributor

Mike,