New Discussion юеВ

Firmware Upgrade on 9000/800/rp3440 11.11 Version

SOLVED
Go to solution
Indrajit Bhagat
Regular Advisor

Firmware Upgrade on 9000/800/rp3440 11.11 Version

Hi All

I am quite new in Upgrading the firmware, I had an HP-Unix Server model 9000/800/rp3440 11.11 Version, I need to upgrade the firmware, Could you please share the procedure how it can be done.
6 REPLIES 6
sangilak
Trusted Contributor
Solution

Re: Firmware Upgrade on 9000/800/rp3440 11.11 Version

Hi,

Detailed installation instructions can be found in the Readme file for 'rp3410/rp3440 PDC, BMC, and iLO MP Firmware'. Check the webpage below for details:

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/SoftwareDescription.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&prodTypeId=15351&prodSeriesId=2512013&swItem=pf-92188-2&prodNameId=1828449&swEnvOID=54&swLang=13&taskId=135&mode=4&idx=1

sangilak
Mel Burslan
Honored Contributor

I have not done this for a looooong time on my own. We always had it done under the h/w service agreement. And it is for a purpose. If something goes wrong, you can easily end up with a doorstop/brick in your hands rather than a server and the repair (main board replacement) may be costly. So proceed with caution

1. download the appropriate ISO image from HP. Image you need to d/l depends on your current and wanted code levels.

2. Burn ISO onto an optical media, using the slowest speed possible. YOu do not want it to fail just before it completes the operation.

3. Place the burned media into Optical drive of the server and reboot the server.

4. Halt the automatic boot process and have the server search for bootable devices. Select Optical ROM Drive and let it go.

5. Follow the on-screen menus and prompts.

Make sure your OS has the prerequisite patches installed for the new firmware to operate properly. Otherwise your system might become useless when you reboot it under new firmware and you might have hard time getting it to run again. So make sure you are patched correctly.