108760 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

mirror/ux

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jon Steele
Valued Contributor

mirror/ux

I am a novice with hpux.I have 11.i running and would like two load mirror ux .I do not know where too start.I have a license to use mirrordisk/ux ,but i am lost as what two do next.Can anyone please point me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

Jon
6 REPLIES 6
Joshua Scott
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: mirror/ux

Jon,

If you have Phone-in support with HP, I recommend calling them if possible and having them walk you through it. I have found that with basic situations like this, they will give you everything you need over the phone.

I'm not sure exactly what you need help with, so I'll give you the full instructions...

If you haven't already done so, follow the instructions on the License to get a Codeword from HP.

Put CD 1 of the applications CD set that you should have in the same package as the HP-UX Media.

Next, type:
swinstall

This should take you into the software install program. Select your local CD-ROM drive as the source, and your local server as the host.

I am doing this from memory on the swinstall application so I may be a little off on the exact names of menus and buttons. Select the 'actions' menu by pressing until it is selected. In this menu you will have to select the option that says something about entering a codeword. Next, follow the instructions and enter your Customer Identifier and Codeword in the spaces indicated.

Once the Codeword is accepted, you should see Mirrordisk/UX in the software list. select it by pressing space, and then go back to the actions menu and select 'install selected software' or something similar. It will then analyze your system. When it's finished with the analysis, (which should succeed) continue with the install by pressing 'OK' or 'Continue' or something like that.

The software should then install.

Let me know if you want help on the specific commands to mirror a volume.

-Josh