108781 Solutions
New Discussion

Several questions

SOLVED
Go to solution
feedthemachine
Occasional Contributor

Several questions

Hello. I am new to HPE Storage and have some questions I would highly appreciate assistance with!

1. What are deployment configurations for HPE 3PAR systems? What type of applications could benefit the most from running on HPE Storage? I assume there are some benefits with regard to Microsoft SQL Server OLTP databases but want to double-check it here.
  2. Which instruments are available for pulling inventory data and performance metrics? Is that only 3PAR CLI and the IMC have such monitoring capabilities? What's about System Reporter?

3. What is the granularity of performance data stored and over what interval? Can it be altered?

4. Can performance data be pulled in a pack or does it need to be retrieved in periods?

5. What will be the performance impact (if any) during data collection? How could it be minimized?

6. Which commands need to be executed to:
    - Authenticate, connect to the array?
    - Pull performance, inventory metrics?
    - Re-configure the array / management interface

7. What are the semantics of the output and how should the output be retrieved to extract inventory and performance metrics?

Thanks in advance!

3 REPLIES 3
Michal Doležal
Frequent Advisor
Solution

Re: Several questions

Hi I may answer partialy:

What are typical deployment configurations for current and older HP 3PAR systems? - This depends on what you require. Be careful 3PAR filesystem is little bit different than for example Storewize and more complex. For understanding this try your HPE presale guy because this is about concepts and it is for long time (and good time for coffee). I may only point you on this: https://support.hpe.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?docId=c04204225 . Very useful guide with lot of informations. Read it. Really.