1751979 Members
4614 Online
108784 Solutions
New Discussion

Snapshot dependencies

alivefish
Occasional Visitor

Snapshot dependencies

Question:  Will deleting the 03QA-data11.ro snapshot impact the higher order RW snapshot 03QA-data11?

Synopsis:

I have a process where Step 1, a RO snap of server 1 volume (03-data11) is created, in the illustration that snap is named (03QA-data11.ro).  Step 2, we create a RW snapshot of the RO snapshot, then present the RW snap (03QA-data11) to server 2 as a block device for Oracle/ASM.   Works great, but we haven't cleaned them up due to fear of dependency on the RW snapshot.  That fear stems from the SSMC UI reflecting a visual likage between source copy and destination copies.  There is no Capacity or Exports associated with the 03QA-data11.ro snap, nor does the WWN of the 03QA-data11.ro show up on a server as an additional check.  It seems obvious it could be deleted but I am new to the 3Par system and need to eliminate the possibility that deleting the 03QA-data11.ro snap will impact the higher order RW copy 03QA-data11 that is exported to server 2.

I apoligize, first time post and did not know we could not attach a picture of the volume copy visual I have described.  Is my question clear?

4 REPLIES 4
sbhat09
HPE Pro

Re: Snapshot dependencies

Hello @alivefish,

Your suspect is absolutely right.!
In your scenario, deleting the 03QA-data11.ro will impact the RW snapshot 03QA-data11. Because 03QA-data11 has dependency on 03QA-data11.ro. Deleting the previous snapshot will infact delete the later snapshot as well.

Regards,
Srinivas Bhat

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!
Note: All of my comments are my own and are not any official representation of the company.

I am an HPE Employee

Accept or Kudo

Sheldon Smith
HPE Pro

As I understand it, you have
03-data11 -- base volume presented to server 1
+> 03QA-data11.ro
   +> 03QA-data11 -- presented to server 2