1753645 Members
6344 Online
108798 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Creating an NFS

Andre Ford
Advisor

Creating an NFS

I'm pretty new to the Unnix world so please forgive me if this has been answered before. We are currently have a 4-bay data silo attached to our HP 9000 running 10.20. The silo has been configured and works fine under 10.20. What I need to do is format a removable drive, create an NFS and take it to an HP-UX 9.05 environemnt where it can be mounted and used. I'm not sure what switches I would need to accomplish this. Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Andre
3 REPLIES 3
Victor BERRIDGE
Honored Contributor

Re: Creating an NFS

Hi Andre,
Im not sure Ive understood what you are up to...
This is what I see :
1)You need to format (?..) a removable drive
2) create an NFS (??)
3) Take it to an HP-UX 9.05 (???)

Looks youre talking of HP series 700 workstation is is not?
1) Are you using LVM, and vxfs on youre 10.20?
2 and 3: Is it you want the disk to be seen by HP9.05 or physically plug the disk to it - in which case I dont understand the NFS bit.

I would imagine : you want to create an filesystem that is exported to your 9.05 box.

Unfortunatly I havent used a workstation for 5 years now, and HP series800 have been using LVM since HPUX 9.XX... The best for you since you are new to unix would be to use SAM (System admin-manager) sam works in text and X, now as for your task 2 choices under LVM
a) add your disk to an existing volume group
b) create a new volume group
To do so, choose your option (create or add to existing) launch sam=>disk and file systems...
Once youve done this in sam go and create a logical volume of the size of the file system you want to be exported and the mount point.
Now in sam, go to Networking and Communications/Networked file systems
click on exported file systems.
In the new window go to menu Actions/Add exported file system
Fill in the fields